Johnny Cash - Bears Sonic Journals: At The Carousel Ballroom April 24, 1968 - Box Set

Johnny Cash - Bears Sonic Journals: Johnny Cash At The Carousel Ballroom April 24, 1968 - Box Set


-Side 1 -

1 Cocaine Blues (Live)

2 Long Black Veil (Live)

3 Going to Memphis (Live)

4 The Ballad of Ira Hayes (Live)

5 Rock Island Line (Live)

- Side 2 -

1 Guess Things Happen That Way (Live)

2 One Too Many Mornings (Live)

3 Don't Think Twice, It's All Right (Live)

4 Give My Love to Rose (Live)

5 Green, Green Grass of Home (Live)

6 Old Apache Squaw (Live)

7 Lorena (Live)

- Side 3 -

1 Fort Shades of Green (Live)

2 Bad News (Live)

3 Jackson (Live) - By Johnny Cash & June Carter Cash

4 Tall Lover Man (Live) - By Johnny Cash & June Carter Cash

5 June Carter Medley (Live)

- Side 4 -

1 Long Legged Guitar Pickin' Man (Live) - By Johnny Cash & June Carter Cash

2 Ring of Fire (Live)

3 Big River (Live)

4 Don't Take Your Guns to Town (Live)

5 I Walk the Line (Live)


Limited Edition Color Vinyl Double LP Box Set includes…

• 9” x 11” Reproduction Show Poster

• 12” x 12” 12 Page Essays & Photo Booklet

• Recipe card from the Cash Family Cook Book

• House Of Cash Paper Note Pad

• 24” x 12” Expanded Artwork Card Stock Poster

• Reproduction Johnny Cash Comic Book

• Reproduction Cardstock Tour Itinerary Envelope

• Housed in a sturdy Fold Open Box

• Limited to 1000 Copies Only

Previously Unreleased Live Recording With All Analog Production Recorded By Owsley "Bear" Stanley Days Before The Release Of At Folsom Prison! The Owsley Stanley Foundation and Renew Records/BMG release Bear's Sonic Journals: Johnny Cash, At The Carousel Ballroom, April 24 1968, an historic and never-heard live concert recorded in San Francisco by innovative sound wizard Owsley Stanley. Captured in the heart of Haight-Ashbury, just days before the release of Cash's iconic At Folsom Prison album (and over six months before the arrival of the equally revered At San Quentin), At The Carousel Ballroom serves as a third essential - and wholly unique - live document from the era, a moment of cultural collision, with Cash leaning into songs about society's outcasts, while playing a venue operated by The Jefferson Airplane and Grateful Dead. At The Carousel Ballroom captures Cash at the height of his charismatic powers, in playful and powerful dialogue with his then-new bride June Carter, and backed by his legendary band The Tennessee Three: guitarist Luther Perkins, bassist Marshall Grant and drummer W.S. Holland. His set list that evening diverged from other concerts of the time, as Cash chose to cover two Bob Dylan compositions ("Don't Think Twice It's Alright" and his earliest known recording of "One Too Many Mornings") and perform songs of the overlooked and underserved such as "The Ballad Of Ira Hayes". Recorded by Stanley in a verité style, the album startles with its clarity and dimension. Many of the sound reproduction techniques that Stanley pioneered while serving as the in-house engineer at the Carousel are accepted sonic gospel today. When he listened back to the Cash concert, he knew he had captured something special, immediately earmarking it for preservation. This release marks the latest entry in the Owsley Stanley Foundation's 'Bear's Sonic Journals' series, which has previously included Stanley's live recordings of The Allman Brothers Band, Tim Buckley, Doc & Merle Watson and many more. "When you hear this, you feel like you are on the stage with the band," says Starfinder Stanley. John Carter Cash agrees, describing At The Carousel Ballroom as "what I believe to be one of the most intimate and connected shows I have ever heard."