Jonathan Richman - Modern Lover

35 Anniversary Edition of Jonathan Richman & The Modern LoversÂ’ final studio album. Delivering a surprisingly lush sound, the musicians perform an upbeat selection of playful, acoustic tunes, including “I Love Hot Nights,” “African Lady,” and “Gail Loves Me.” A favorite title in RichmanÂ’s lengthy catalog, Modern Lovers 88 has been praised by AllMusic as “Quite rocking, with heavy debts to doo-wop and Bo Diddley rhythms, and a jolly (though not sappy) summertime campfire feel.” This reissue features all-analog mastering from the original tapes by Kevin Gray at Conhearent Audio and is pressed on“Hot Nights Sky Blue” vinyl.

Side A

  • 1. Dancin' Late At Night
  • 2. When Harpo Played His Harp
  • 3. Gail Loves Me
  • 4. New Kind Of Neighborhood
  • 5. African Lady

Side B

  • 1. I Love Hot Nights
  • 2. California Desert Party
  • 3. Everything's Gotta Be Right
  • 4. Cirlce I
  • 5. I Have Come Out To Play
  • 6. The Theme From Moulin Rouge